Complex Business Litigation

Our business litigation work spans trial and appellate courts at the state and federal level, and participation in arbitration proceedings. Clients from a broad range of industries rely on McGinnis Lochridge for seasoned litigation and counsel on a variety of matters, including private antitrust and securities issues, and administrative and regulatory proceedings. Our experience with complex business disputes includes many other areas of substantive law, including commercial, business torts, claims of trade secret misappropriation and other unfair competition claims.  Additionally, we handle Texas common law claims for breach of fiduciary duty, tortious interference, fraud, negligent misrepresentation, negligent hiring and supervision, and wrongful termination.

Antitrust and Securities Matters

Our litigation attorneys represent clients in private antitrust and securities lawsuits, and in investigations and enforcement actions brought by the Federal Trade Commission, United States Department of Justice and Office of the Attorney General of Texas. We have represented clients on antitrust issues before various state commissions and agencies.

Our lawyers have extensive experience defending issuers, directors, officers, attorneys and other professionals in class action and individual securities fraud lawsuits in state and federal courts throughout Texas. We have also represented issuers, broker-dealers, and individual investment representatives in arbitration before the New York Stock Exchange, National Association of Securities Dealers, Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, and American Arbitration Association. We handle a variety of state and federal statutory claims, including claims under Rule 10b-5, §§10, 11, and 12, the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act, and Texas Securities Act.

Administrative and Regulatory Proceedings

For public utilities and clients in other regulated industries, we can provide representation for administrative and regulatory proceedings in related complex and multi-jurisdictional litigation. Our experience encompasses appellate review of regulatory orders, rulemaking proceedings, and state commission decisions under the Federal Telecommunication Act.

McGinnis Lochridge is well-versed in the intersection of bankruptcy court jurisdiction and state administrative proceedings, as well as remedies involving regulated industries.  Our attorneys have assisted clients with mandamus proceedings, consumer class action litigation in the utility arena and Open Records Act issues, plus a variety of disputes involving wholesale contractual agreements between utilities and interconnection between competing telecommunications carriers.

 

 

 
  Primary Contact  
  Rick Milvenan
512 495-6005 o
512 505-6305 f
rmilvenan@mcginnislaw.com
 
 
  Practicing in this Area...  
 
Travis Barton
tcbarton@mcginnislaw.com
Felicity A. Fowler
ffowler@mcginnislaw.com
Michael A. Shaunessy
mshaunessy@mcginnislaw.com
Jonathan Baughman
jbaughman@mcginnislaw.com
Donald D. Jackson
djackson@mcginnislaw.com
Steven Watkins
swatkins@mcginnislaw.com
Kevin M. Beiter
kbeiter@mcginnislaw.com
Eric A. Johnston
ejohnston@mcginnislaw.com
Raymond White
rwhite@mcginnislaw.com
Mitchell C. Chaney
mchaney@mcginnislaw.com
Michael Kabat
mkabat@mcginnislaw.com
Marcus V.  Eason
meason@mcginnislaw.com
Ray Chester
rchester@mcginnislaw.com
April Lucas
alucas@mcginnislaw.com
John (JC) Hernandez
jhernandez@mcginnislaw.com
Paul D. Clote
pclote@mcginnislaw.com
Rick Milvenan
rmilvenan@mcginnislaw.com
Curt H.  Schwake
cschwake@mcginnislaw.com
 
 
 
 
  Our Offices  
 
Austin Office
600 Congress Ave., Ste. 2100
Austin,TX 78701
512 495-6000 p | 512 495-6093 f

Houston Office
711 Louisiana St., Ste. 1600
Houston,TX 77002
713 615-8500 p | 713 615-8585 f

Dallas Office
Chase Tower
2200 Ross Ave., Ste. 4900E
Dallas,TX 75201
214 307-6960 p | 214 307-6990 f

Decatur Office
203 W. Walnut St, Ste 100
Decatur,TX 76234
940 627-1100 p

 
     
  mcginnislaw.com